Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search





The stolen child : a novel / Lisa Carey.

Carey, Lisa, (author.).

Available copies

  • 11 of 14 copies available at Sitka.
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Sparwood Public Library.

Current holds

0 current holds with 0 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Holdable? Status Due Date
Sparwood Public Library FIC CAR (Text) 35172000195343 Adult Fiction Volume hold Available -
100 Mile House Branch CAR (Text) 33923005769330 General Fiction Volume hold Available -
Bowsman F CAR (Text) 35419002698844 Adult Fiction Volume hold Available -
Bren Del Win Centennial Library F Carey (Text) 36320000338822 Adult Fiction Volume hold Available -
Castlegar Public Library FIC CAR (Text) 35146002020386 Fiction Volume hold Checked out 10/02/2017
Fernie Heritage Library ON ORDER (Text) BF001768 On Order Not holdable On order -
Gibsons Public Library FIC CARE (Text) 30886001032859 Adult Fiction Hardcover Volume hold Available -
Kimberley Public Library F CAR (Text) 35137000178870 Adult Fiction Volume hold Checked out 10/10/2017
Kitimat Public Library Car (Text) 32665002073569 Adult fiction Volume hold Available -
Pender Island Public Library CAR (Text) 33126000297212 Adult Fiction Volume hold Available -
Next 10 »

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780062492180 (softcover) :
  • Physical Description: 373, 15 pages ; 21 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : HarperPerennial, 2017.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: "From the author of the critically acclaimed The Mermaids Singing comes a haunting, luminous novel set on an enchanted island off the west coast of Ireland where magic, faith, and superstition pervade the inhabitants' lives and tangled relationships -- perfect for fans of Eowyn Ivey, Sarah Waters, and Angela Carter. May 1959. From one side of St. Brigid's Island, the mountains of Connemara can be glimpsed on the distant mainland; from the other, the Atlantic stretches as far as the eye can see. This remote settlement, without electricity or even a harbor, has scarcely altered since its namesake saint set up a convent of stone huts centuries ago. Those who live there, including sisters Rose and Emer, are hardy and resourceful, dependent on the sea and each other for survival. Despite the island's natural beauty, it is a place that people move away from, not to -- until an outspoken American, also named Brigid, arrives to claim her late uncle's cottage. Brigid has come for more than an inheritance. She's seeking a secret holy well that's rumored to grant miracles. Emer, as scarred and wary as Rose is friendly and beautiful, has good reason to believe in inexplicable powers. Despite her own strange abilities -- or perhaps because of them -- Emer fears that she won't be able to save her young son, Niall, from a growing threat. Yet Brigid has a gift too, even more remarkable than Emer's. As months pass and Brigid carves out a place on the island and in the sisters' lives, a complicated web of betrayal, fear, and desire culminates in one shocking night that will change the island, and its inhabitants, forever. Steeped in Irish history and lore, The Stolen Child is a mesmerizing descent into old world beliefs, and a captivating exploration of desire, myth, motherhood, and love in all its forms."--Provided by publisher.
Subject: Sisters > Fiction.
Magic > Fiction.
Inheritance and succession > Fiction.
Americans > Ireland > Fiction.
Superstition > Fiction.
Islands > Fiction.
Ireland > Social life and customs > 20th century > Fiction.
Genre: Historical fiction.

Additional Resources